

# THE PHYSIOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF INDIA

(Registered under Act XXI of 1860)

## **Department of Physiology**

92, Acharya Prafulla Chandra Road, Kolkata: 700009, India.

Prof. Amar K. Chandra

Dr. Rajen Haldar

**Dr. Smritiratan Tripathy** 

President.

Hony. General Secretary

Hony. Treasurer

01st November, 2022

## **NOTICE**

## **PSI Orations for the year 2022**

The Physiological Society of India invites nominations from the Life Members of the Society for its thirteen (13) Orations for the year 2022 to be delivered by nominated distinguished Physiologists, Scientists, and Researchers of India and abroad. Most of the Orations will be delivered in ensuing Annual Conference of the Society / a restricted number in Indian Science Congress Sessions [Section: Medical Sciences (including Physiology)] / and the remaining in the one day Scientific Seminar of the Society that is conventionally organised on the day of Annual General Body Meeting of the Society during end of the month of June of each year.

The Life Members are requested to submit the nomination(s) in favour of their candidates with due written consent of the Nominee(s) that they would deliver the Lecture in any of the above mentioned venues along with his / her CV and the title of the article, abstract along with a full length paper (following guideline of the PSI Journal: <a href="https://ijpas.org/index.php/ijpas/about/submissions">https://ijpas.org/index.php/ijpas/about/submissions</a>) to be delivered. If any one cannot submit the full paper during his/her nomination, the same can be submitted later, however, not later than the date of delivery of the concerned Oration.

The last date of submission of nomination is 30<sup>th</sup> November, 2022 (till 5 PM) to the Hony. General Secretary of the Society via email to general secretary@physiologicalsocietyofindia.org.

# Orations for the year 2022 are as follows:

## 1. Prof. S.C. Mahalanobis Memorial Oration

It is a life time achievement award; Person in the post of a Professor/ Senior Scientist in a reputed Institutions (in India or Abroad), who has immense contribution to the field of Physiology, and Allied Sciences may apply for this Oration .

#### 2. Prof. B.B. Sarkar Memorial Oration

By convention, this awards is presented to the Organizing Secretary of the Annual Conference of The PSI (of the concerned year).



#### 3. Prof. P.B. Sen Memorial Oration

Prof. Sen is specialized in Biochemistry. Any reputed scientist who has contributed immensely towards Physiological Chemistry and Clinical Physiology will be preferred.

#### 4. Prof. S.R. Maitra Memorial Oration

Prof. Maitra was eminent Work Physiologist and founder of Ergonomics in University of Calcutta. Later he also worked on Pharmaceutical Physiology and Drug discovery. After completing his PhD from abroad, he joined University of Calcutta.

Any Scientist having immense contribution in the field of Biological Sciences may apply. However, person having contribution in the field of Pharmaceutical Sciences will be given preference.

#### 5. Prof. J.N. Moitra Memorial Oration

Prof. Moitra was as Eminent Neurophysiologist as well as Psychiatrist. Any person who has immense contribution in those field will be preferred.

## 6. Prof. A.K. Mukherjee Memorial Oration

Prof. Mukherjee was an eminent Endocrinologist as well as Reproductive Physiologist. Person having immense contribution to those filed will be preferred.

## 7. Prof. Satipati Chatterjee Memorial Oration

Prof. Chatterjee was specialized in Sports Physiology. Person who has immense contribution in Sport Physiology will be preferred.

#### 8. Sri. Ramendra Sundar Sinha Memorial Oration

Eminent Physiologist from any branches can apply.

#### 9. Sm. Subha Mukherjee Memorial Oration

Person having contribution to the field of Cancer biology will be preferred.

### 10. Sm. Shakuntala Das Gupta Memorial Oration

She was specialized in Nutritional Biochemistry. Person working and have immense contribution in the such field will be preferred.

## 11. Dr. Chitralekha Mukherjee Memorial Oration

Dr. Mukherjee was specialized in Endocrinology, Reproductive Biology and Pharmacology. Any person having to those field will be preferred.

#### 12. Prof. K. Raghothama Rao Oration

Prof. Rao is an eminent and outstanding teacher in the Physiology Education. Person having publications in Physiology Education will be preferred.

## 13. Dr. Siddhartha Debnath Memorial Oration

Dr. Debnath was specialized in neurophysiology. However, any scientist (within the age of 45 years) having contribution to the field of Physiology and allied Sciences may apply for this Oration.