Breaking news

The Physiological Society of India, Registered under Act XXI of 1860

Brief History about the Society and its Activities

The Physiological Society of India is the pioneer organization of the Physiologists of India. The Society was established on July 13, 1934 by a group of eminent persons like Sir Nilratan Sarkar, Sir Kedar Nath Das, Sir Upendra Nath Brahmachari, Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy, who were the well-known Physician in Calcutta, along with some renowned Physiologists and Biochemists like Prof. Subodh Chandra Mahalanobis, Prof. Narendra Mohan Basu, Prof. Bijoli Behari Sarkar, Prof. Parimal Bikash Sen, Prof. J.N. Moitra, Dr. D.N. Mullick, Prof. Biresh Chandra Guha etc.

The first President of the Society was Prof. Subodh Chandra Mahalanobis, the pioneer Physiologist, who also became the first Professor of Physiology in India under the Science Faculty in the Presidency College in Calcutta, a constituent College of the University of Calcutta.

The first two Secretaries of the Society were Prof. Nibaran Chandra Bhattacharya and Prof. Narendra Mohan Basu. The first Treasurer and the first Assistant Secretary of the Society were Prof. Bijoli Behari Sarkar and Dr. P.M. Brahmachari respectively.

The Society first started functioning in Calcutta. But in course of time it became an All India Organization of Physiologists, Pharmacologists, Biochemists and Medical students and teachers.

Read more


Thanks For your Feedback

What can we Improve here for you!